Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28629 Discussions

Problems migrating from CVF to IVF: Help Requested

mattintelnetfort
Beginner
I've got three immediate problems I could use some help on. I am migrating code from Compaq Visual Fortran 6.6 to Intel 9.0. The application has significant C++ components and code base as well; we're moving these from Visual Studio 6 to Visual Studio 2003. I'm new to both Intel 9.0 and Visual Studio 2003. There is C++ and Fortran mixed within the overall workspace (i.e., solution), but not within a project. Individual projects within the workspace are either C++, F77, or F90. We build several F77 static libraries, then link them into a single DLL.
1) Archiving of the F77 libraries takes a long (long) time; in some cases over a minute for only 30 objects. This seems much slower than CVF. Any ideas? Also, I get many link warnings I did not see in CVF regarding common blocks defined in multiple object files though the library is successfully built:

Creating library...

XXXX_ipo.obj : warning LNK4006: _CUSTOMCOMMONBLOCKNAME already defined in YYYY_ipo.obj; second definition ignored

Build log written to file://D:BuildLog.txt

Engine_Lib1build succeeded.

2) When the DLL is linked which links all the F77 static libraries as well as some F90 objects from the local DLL project, I receive the following link error message:

Linking...

LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'dfnls.lib'

I was under the impression that nothing needed to change to support NLS, but future coding should reference 'USE IFNLS' instead of 'USE DFNLS'. I needed neither in CVF. Any ideas?