Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28385 Discussions

Problems running in Windows 10 a DLL for VBA that used to work in Windows 7

Gomez__Jose
Beginner

Hello,

I am not a professional developer, but a researcher trying to run a numerical model and now it looks like I am a hole. Before keep digging I send this post in case someone else has had a similar problem and could be kind to  send me some light

I am running a simulation model which I have programmed and compiled as a DLL in Fortran in VSE to be called from an excel file VBA macro. The excel file works and an interface for inputs and outputs from the model.

It  has worked well ifor years in several Windows 7 platforms. The one I have now re-tested at home is compiled on windows 7 professional on an Intel Core I7. It has been compiled with VSE2010. I works  providing that I used this option for the libraries while compiling: . 

Project > Settings > Fortran > Libraries > Use Run-Time Library > Multithreaded

Now when I try to excecute it in a different machine with Windows 10 Pro, on a Core i7 (8th generation), give me this error:

Run-time error '48':
File not found: myfilename.dll

Of course the path is correct.It is the same error that used to give when compiling the libraries with the wrong option, but now I have tried all the  compiling options for the library and I keep having the same error.

I have tried to compiled it in the same new Machine using another VSE (2016) and give me the same error.

A funny final fact in case it helps. I have a very old version of the same model (compiled like 8 year ago on an old machine and older  Firtran compiler, which I have no access anymore) that works in both computers.

I looks like in its current configuration in the new machine VBA can´t access the DLL butI do not hava a hint.I will appreciate any hint that could help me to move forward.