Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28434 Discussions

Quenstion regarding weird bug with OpenMP parallelization

Marius13
Novice

Hello,
so first I have to mention, that I am new to the Intel Fortran Compiler and there may be some obvious things that I am not doing/taking into account.

So I have recently switched to Intel fortran for the possibility of parallelisation. I am now using OpenMP to calculate many of the loops in my program that seemed to make sense in parallel and what I noticed is that the perfomance went faster and faster with more threads until around 15 threads and after that it started getting slower and slower (I have aaccess to a Server with 190 threads).

I was looking for the issue and found this weird behaviour that I could replicate with a test program (copy below). When I have an empty parallel region inside of a loop with a larger array definition (below its U2 = U = 128x128x50x2), the program slows down if I use more and more loops.
Even in the case where the arrays U and U2 are empty and the parallel region is completely empty as well.
And if I deactivate the parallel region or delete the array definition it goes as fast as usual. If I calculate the array definition and the empty parallel region inside of two different loops it also goes fast.

So maybe there seems to be some sort of memory problem or false sharing or something? I could not find any answers what is happening here which is why I was hoping some of you could help me out, it would be much appreciated. Thanks!

---------------------

program Test_Parallel2

USE omp_lib

IMPLICIT NONE

INTEGER, parameter :: jmax=128, lmax=128, Nbr_S=1, Nbr_SSS=50
REAL (KIND(0.0)), DIMENSION(100) :: Simulation_Time
REAL (KIND(0.0)), DIMENSION(Nbr_SSS,2,jmax,lmax) :: U

INTEGER :: Time1, Time2, rate
    INTEGER :: iMaxThreads, kmax, k
    REAL (KIND(0.0)) :: total_time