Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28446 Discussions

Question: problems porting a 32-bit application to 64 bit (fortran libraries are 32 bit)

Carlos_C_1
Beginner

First of all, disclaimers: - Background: basic knowledge of computers, I am not a programmer.

• Previous knowledge of programming, building solutions, etc. -- Very very basic, close to nil. This is my first time building a MVisualStudio solution.

• Using: Microsoft Visual Studio 2010, working on a Windows 7 machine.

Context:

I am a structural engineer trying to recompile and rebuild a program (for seismic analysis of buildings), targeting a 64-bit machine (this will, to my understanding, increase the amount of RAM available to the program and allow me to analyze bigger structures). I seem to have a problem using intel fortran libraries originally written for 32-bit when trying to build a 64-bit application.

The problem:

I have the source code for the application (originally written as a 32-bit application) and I am able to build the solution for a 32-bit machine with no problems. The executable works fine and everything is well. The problem arises when I try to build a 64-bit application.

In Visual Studio 2010, when I go to Project>Properties>configuration Properties>Configuration Manager>Active Solution Platform>, I select "x64", and also "Copy settings from Win32". Then I proceed to build the solution. The building process gives a lot of warnings (but this also happens with the 32-bit build, and I think has to do with the fact that the original application was built using VS2005). The build has a single error:

lnk1112 module machine type x86 conflicts with target machine type x64