Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28632 Discussions

Replacing common blocks with Modules in a subroutine

mechprog
Beginner
Hello all,
Firstly, I am not a programmer by trade, so find it challeneging. Secondly, I have read up what I can to help me with this problem, however, I still very much need to help of experts with this problem and would really appreciate it.
I have a subroutine (which I use with abaqus), I would like to replace the common blocks I use in the subroutine with modules. The common blocks are currently used in the following way:
[fxfortran]subroutine(.....) DECLARATIONS common/data/A(yon,1),B(yon) -------- A(part,tun)=A(part,tun)-(x*y*z) B(part)=B(part)-(x*y*z)[/fxfortran]
Would really appreciate your help in changing this from common blocks to using modules.
Thanks.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Arjen_Markus
Honored Contributor I
One way of doing this is to let every common block of the same name be in a module of
its own and then use that module wherever the common block was used.

Something along these lines:

! Contents of COMMON block "/data/"
module common_data
use module_that_defines_the_parameters !Get yon
implicit none
real, dimension(yon,1) :: A
real, dimension(yon) :: B
end module common_data

and in your subroutine:

subroutine xxx(...)
use common_data
end subroutine

Some notes:
- Make sure you define the variables in the COMMON block explicitly. This is to avoid
nasty mistakes that will make your considerably more difficult.
- Parameters like "yon" need to be defined somewhere - I would go for a separate module that
defines them, if I were to use the above approach
- An alternative is to put all COMMON-blocks (and the parameters they require) in a single
module. This may cause problems, though, as you would introduce extra variables into
routines that already have variables of the same name (but possibly different types)