Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28383 Discussions

Source Not Available while debugging

LucaD
Beginner

Hi all,

This is my first post here so, let me introduce myself. I am a research scientist and for most of my work I have to deal with a simulation model written in Fortran. I don't have any official training on Fortran and programming and, all I know comes from reading, working with colleagues better programming skills, and a lot of experimenting and playing.

After many attempts, I am not able to solve the problem I am facing now. I am working on Windows 10 and I use Visual Studio Professional 2017 plus Intel Parallel Studio XE 2019 Composer Edition for Fortran to work with the source code of the simulation model I use. Sometimes it happens that the debugging process stops because of a problem, but the executions stops with the message "Source Not Available" and the only option available is the "view disassembly" which brings to a new window that, honestly, I can't understand.

What is strange is that if I debug the same source code using the same input data using Visual Studio 2008 plus Intel Visual Fortran Composer XE 2011, the debug process stops at the line of code where the problem occurs and so, I can understand what the problem is.

I don't know if the problem is created by the Fortran compiler, by Visual Studio, or if it is created by some setting that I have to take care of.

Is anyone able to provide some advice on how to solve this issue? Attached are two images, one shows the situation when I get the message "Source Not Available", while the other shows what I consider the normal/expected result of the debug process. Let me know if I need to provide more information.

Thanks,

Luca

0 Kudos
8 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III