Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

Strange stack error causes program terminated without an error

yang__xiaodong
New Contributor I

I'm an experienced fortran programmer, yet a really strange problem confused me.

As mentioned, the program terminates occasionally after the output

"============================ start performing inversion ..."

It seems a stack smash occurs.

The visual studio 2019 project (with oneapi 2021.3 installed) and needed files are attached. You could run the program with

DCFI3D -a mod1

MKL libraries are needed. Could anyone help find the error? Thanks very much.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
yang__xiaodong
New Contributor I

Okay, now I find where the problem is.

It is because that when I use the MKL subroutine mkl_sparse_d_mm that has a proto of 

stat = mkl_sparse_d_mm (operation, alpha,A, descr, layout, B, columns, ldb,beta, C,ldc)

I declare the variable columns larger than what I need. Thus, it results in a C which takes more memory space than expected. This further causes heap corruption, and no error message could be generated by the Fortran compiler. 

View solution in original post

23 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

In order to reproduce the error, you require that we extract and run the EXE that you included in your zip file (GMSH.EXE), which is not only a large file (79 megabytes), but exposes the user to the possibility of viruses in such files. There could be questions regarding whether that file is permitted for open distribution in a forum such as this, as well.

Please run that EXE yourself to generate any data files, and provide those data files that DCFI3D needs in order to run. 

Along those lines, it would be far better if you can condense the program and data to a much smaller size.

0 Kudos
yang__xiaodong
New Contributor I