Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

ULARC

JohnNichols
Valued Contributor III

I have been using this program since 1981.  It is a great program, but I have never used it with multiple load cases, really do not need to do that with coal loads - so big everything else is a nuisance.

I have been writing a paper over the last two days on beam elements with varying moments of inertia -- not a common element, but my interest in some old math stuff I have not touched since 2004 arose from a paper by Dr Lewis from England -- quite interesting in an Ivory Tower sort of way. I thought I would use the arch examples in the paper on ULARC, I had used it for a lot of arches.

Lewis gives an example of an arch with zero moments -- nifty really - so I was putting the data into ULARC and getting the output as 3 loads, self weight, applied load and total load. 

I was plotting the results and thought - they look strange.  Went got the manual -- seemed normal operation for using 3 loads one after the other -- but that is not the case.  Took me  awhile to track down the code location - total load at each node is summed after each analysis --

C
C     UPDATE MEMBER QUANTITIES
C
      DO 310 NE=1,NELS
C
              DO 270 I=1,3
                  STOT(NE,I)=STOT(NE,I)+RATIO*S(NE,I)
                  VP(NE,I)=VP(NE,I)*RATIO
  270         VPTOT(NE,I)=VPTOT(NE,I)+VP(NE,I)
C
C     ACCUMULATE MAXIMUM ROTATIONS
C
          DO 280 I=2,3
              IF (VPTOT(NE,I).GT.VPTP(NE,I)) VPTP(NE,I)=VPTOT(NE,I)
              IF (VPTOT(NE,I).LT.VPTN(NE,I)) VPTN(NE,I)=VPTOT(NE,I)
  280     CONTINUE
C
C     SET NEW HINGE CODES
C
          IF (IBUST.NE.0) GO TO 310
          IF (NE.NE.INEL) GO TO 300
          IHI(NE)=1
          write (1,290) NE,NODI(NE)
  290     FORMAT(//20H HINGE FORMS, MEMBER,I4,6H, NODE,I4)
  300     IF (NE.NE.JNEL) GO TO 310
          IHJ(NE)=1