Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Undefined reference to MAIN__ ???

paitor
Beginner
Hi I might as well start by saying that Im a total newbie to programming, thus my problem might seem ridiculous to most of you.

Anyway, Im trying to compile an executable from src for the finite element code CalCulix, but constantly get the error (last lines):

ifort -warn unused -warn declarations -O2 -o ccx_1.5 ccx_1.5.o ccx_1.5.a ../../../SPOOLES.2.2/spooles.a ../../../ARPACK/libarpack_SUN4.a -lm
ccx_1.5.o: In function `main':
ccx_1.5.c:(.text+0x0): multiple definition of `main'
/opt/intel/fc/9.1.036/lib/for_main.o:./src/libfor/for_main.c:(.text+0x0): first defined here
ld: Warning: size of symbol `main' changed from 88 in /opt/intel/fc/9.1.036/lib/for_main.o to 29557 in ccx_1.5.o
/opt/intel/fc/9.1.036/lib/for_main.o: In function `main':
./src/libfor/for_main.c:(.text+0x3e): undefined reference to `MAIN__'
make: *** [ccx_1.5] Error 1

As Im using the ifort compiler I had to try to modify the make file which originally used: g77 -Warn -O

which I translated into: ifort -warn unused -warn declarations -O2

I have also tried to use the flags: -nus -names as_is

but no change. Also, as the code is partly written in c , Ive keept the old c-compiler options: cc -Wall -O -I

welll, thats it, any suggestions for a stupid newbie (by the way, Im running openSuSE 10.2 on a Dell Precision, with two dual core 2.0 MHz intel Xenon processors, if this has any importance) Thanks in advance paitor

0 Kudos
7 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III

Does this option fit your situation?

-nofor-main do not link against Fortran main object
Used when linking Fortran objects with C main program

0 Kudos
paitor
Beginner
Yes that did the trick smiley [:-)]. Thanks mate

BRP
0 Kudos
bredsj
Novice