Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

making a program run faster...

mdfischer
Beginner
Hi

I'm looking for general suggestions on how to make a program run faster. The program I am working on right now takes way too long (~6 days) and I need to figure out how to improve that, but I've never done this before.

I have a 1.5 GHz machine with 512MB RAM and 80GB disk space. I realize that specific solutions will be impossible to provide but any suggestions on where I should start would be appreciated!

Thanks
Michele
0 Kudos
8 Replies
njuffa
Beginner
The most important thing to do is to check your algorithm(s). That's usually where the biggest gains are. For example, if you can substitute an O(n*log(n)) algorithm for a O(n**2) algorithm it will make a huge difference if n is large.

If you can tell us what your program does, and what the major algorithm(s) used are, someone reading this board might have an idea on how to improve it.

-- Norbert
0 Kudos
davinci
Beginner
Several things may speed up your program, it depends what you are doing. Unformatted file i/o in large buffers/streams, data compression, nested iterations in the proper order, compilation of a TESTED program in release mode without checks/warnings, memory management, for instance smaller time consuming DLL subroutines running entirely within the first level cache of the computerchip, cpu-parallelism etcetera. There is some literature on efficient Fortran programming and optimisation, try to find it. Anton Kruger, efficient Fortran programming, isbn 0471528943, but more. DaVinci
0 Kudos
njuffa
Beginner
In terms of books that may be helpful when addressing a performance problem, there are several besides the book by Kruger (which is older and out of print but may be available used; I bought a copy recently via Amazon):