Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

pen brush guide for fortran

daoqiang85
Beginner
can someone show me a good guide to write a simple pen brush application using visual fortran standard edition?

p/s: i'm totally new in fortran but i know c++.

thanks in advance.

regards,

Ian
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Jugoslav_Dujic
Valued Contributor II
"Knowing C++" doesn't really mean much; GUI programming is kind of world on its own. So, it really depends which tools you want to use...

• There's simple QuickWin library shipped with VF. It's not very powerful though
  • You can use Windows APIs directly, and VF comes with full translations. It's kind of difficult to use.
  • There are commercial GUI programming packages, like Winteracter and GinoMenu
  • You can check out my free Xeffort library, which integrates with VF. I'm not sure what exactly you want to achieve, but you can check out samples
  • 0 Kudos
    anthonyrichards
    New Contributor III
    You will need to look at the FORTRAN examples, starting with the 'GENERIC' example, to learn
    1) how to create and register a window and store its 'window handle', (typically assigned to a long integer variable frequently named 'hWnd')
    2) how a window procedure works in handling Windows messages
    3) how to find a window's parameters, such as its size, using its window handle
    4) what the window message WM_PAINTmeans and what you need to dotoprocess it correctly
    Further reference to the WIndows SDK will be required to learn
    5) what a window 'device context' is all about and how to get a handle to it (typically assigned to a long integer variable frequently named hDC)
    6) how to define colours using the RGB routines
    7)how to create a pen and how to create a brush of given colours, both processes assigning a 'handle' to each object (typically 'hPen' and 'hBrush')