Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

trouble with very simple Win32 API

yuric
Beginner
Hi,

i am in the process of "translating" a QuickWin fortran application into a MDI Fortran Windows Application. I have little experience with Windows applications and i am stuck on a very basic problem.
In my quickwin application i have many dialog boxes with edit fields that receive user's input and others, read-only, that get updated based on the values entered. For example, enter a number in an edit field and put its square in another:

SUBROUTINE MyDialog !---define the dialog box
external Update

call Update(dlg, ID_EDIT_1, DLG_Change)
call Update(dlg, ID_EDIT_2, DLG_Change)
retlog = DlgSetSub(dlg, ID_EDIT_1, Update)
retlog = DlgSetSub(dlg, ID_EDIT_2, Update)

retint=DlgModal(dlg)
Call DlgUninit(dlg)
end SUBROUTINE

SUBROUTINE Update !---------Handle changes

use DFLOGM
character(256) text
integer control_ID
real MyVariable

select case(control_ID)
case(ID_EDIT_1)
retlog = DlgGet(dlg, ID_EDIT_1, text)
read(text, *, iostat=retint) MyVariable
write(text,9990) MyVariable**2
retlog = DlgSet(dlg, ID_EDIT_2, text)
end select

9990 format(f9.4)

END SUBROUTINE

Now i am having some serious problems in doing this very simple thing in a Fortran Windows Application.
Here's what i have:

intger*4 function MyDialog(hDlg, message, uParam, lParam)

integer MaxChar
real MyVariable
case (WM_INITDLG)

case (WM_COMMAND)

if (LOWORD(uParam) .eq. ID_EDIT_1) then
iret = GetDlgItemText(hDlg, ID_EDIT_1, text, &
MaxChar)
write(text, 9990) MyVariable**2
iret = SetDlgItemText(hDlg, ID_EDIT_2, text//''C)
end if

This does not work (the edit field ID_EDIT_2 is not updated when i enter values in ID_EDIT_1).
However, if i don't use the "write", e.g.

if (LOWORD(uParam) .eq. ID_EDIT_1) then
iret = GetDlgItemText(hDlg, ID_EDIT_1, text, &
MaxChar)
iret = SetDlgItemText(hDlg, ID_EDIT_2, text//''C)