Intel® Integrated Performance Primitives
Deliberate problems developing high-performance vision, signal, security, and storage applications.

H.264 slice coding

maqua
Beginner

Hi,

I am new to H.264 and have a problem to implemnt slice coding... any idea how to do it, because so far i have only managed to implement coding for fixed number of macroblocks but i need fixed slice sizes... I think I have a problem making the slices independent of each other

thanks

0 Kudos
6 Replies
jmason
Beginner
I had the same issue and it took me about a week or so to get it just right. First, I created another CompressSlice function that was nearly identical to the existing implementation except the loop used to loop over each MB was slightly different. What I did was compress each MB and add it to the current slice's bitstream and once the size of the current slice's bitstream was over my max, I would remove the last compressed MB from the current slice's bitstream and then set the current MB as the first MB to be compressed the next time my CompressSlice function was called. I continue to do this until I have either encoded every MB or until I have filled up my last slice.

Now in the case where I have filled up my last slice but have NOT compressed all MBs, I would just reset the output bitstream, increase the quant and re-encode the frame again (the rate control functionality does this already if the encoded frame is larger than it should be). Once I have encoded all MBs, I then return with several slices whose payload is no larger than the maximum I set.

Does this help? Any questions?
0 Kudos
maqua
Beginner
Hi thanks for your reply,

The first paragraph is exactly like I tried to do it ... i start encoding mb's and once limit is exceeded I remove the last mb from bitstream such that next time I can start encoding from the address of this mb.