Intel® Integrated Performance Primitives
Deliberate problems developing high-performance vision, signal, security, and storage applications.

Help with ippiMalloc function

bhatt1
Beginner

Hi,

I am new to the IPP programming. I am trying to replace some old image processing code using the IPP image processing library. I was testing the performance (speed increase) using the ippi functions as compared to my older functions. I started withusing asimple malloc followed bythe ippi copy function and then I replaced the malloc function with ippimalloc. I expected to see a speed increase or at least no difference in speed. But I am seeing a speed decrease by using ippimalloc in place of malloc.

If anyone can help me findmy mistakethat'd be a great help. Here is the piece of code that explains what I tried:

IppStatus ippResult;
IppiSize ippROISize = {m_nImgWidth, m_nImgHeight}; //width and height of image
int nSrcStep = m_nImgWidth * 2; (as my input is a one channel 16-bit image)
int nDestStep = m_nImgWidth * 2;

short* pDestBuffer;
pDestBuffer = (short*)malloc(m_nImgWidth*m_nImgHeight*sizeof(short));
TimerStart();
ippResult = ippiCopy_16s_C1R(pSrcBuffer, nSrcStep,pDestBuffer, nDestStep, ippROISize);
TimerEnd();

AND

nDestStep = 0;
Ipp16s* pDestBuffer;
pDestBuffer = ippiMalloc_16s_C1(m_nImgWidth, m_nImgHeight, &nDestStep);
TimerStart();
ippResult = ippiCopy_16s_C1R(pSrcBuffer, nSrcStep,pDestBuffer, nDestStep, ippROISize);
TimerEnd();

The timing that I getfrom the second piece of code is actually a little higher than that from the first piece of code; which is what I dont understand. I expected ippiMalloc to make the copy operation faster.

Any help or suggestion is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

-Mittal

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Vladimir_Dudnik
Employee

Hi Mittal,