Intel® Integrated Performance Primitives
Deliberate problems developing high-performance vision, signal, security, and storage applications.
6704 Discussions

IPP MX special operation on array of matrices

FabioL_
Beginner

Hi,

Here is a simple question. I'm new to IPP and I'm trying to understand how to use it for solving the following problem:

A += B*C + D*E + F*G + ...

A, B, C, D, E, F, G, ... are all matrices of the same size, * represents standard matrix multiply. The sizes of the matrices are small, typically between 3x3 and 35x35. 

IPP provides a routine - I'm looking at the ippmMul_mama_64f function - that would operate on two source arrays of matrices, in our case: [B, D, F] and [C, E, G], producing, as far as I understood, three output matrices A1, A2, and A3, storing the results of B*C, D*E, and F*G, respectively. Now I have two correlated questions:

- In my problem, there's a single output matrix A. Is there a function in IPP, or a safe way of using ippmMul_mama_64f, such that the results are *accumulated* in a single output matrix A, rather than in three different matrices A1, A2, and A3?

- If this is not possible, how do I best combine the three temporaries A1, A2, and A3?

Ah, incidentally: is there any document I can look at that compares the performance of IPP MX to hand-crafted implementatios? I've done a bit of research and I couldn't find much.

Thanks

-- Fabio

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Andrey_B_Intel
Employee

Hi Fabio.

Unfortunately, there is no special functions for multiplication with accumulation.

To accumulate result you can use  ippmAdd_mama_32f adding pairs of temporal matrices.

Your task is to calculate A += B*C + D*E + F*G +H*I+

step0. ippmMul_mama_32f and get N of T0_0,T1_0,T2_0 where T0=A*B, T1=D*E,T2=F*G

step1.ippmAdd_mama_32f and get N/2 of T0_1,T1_1,T2_1 where T0_1=T0+T1, T1_1=T2+T3

step2. ippmAdd_mama_32f and get N/4 of T0_2,T1_2, where T0_1=T0_1+T1_1, T1_1=T2_1+T3_1 and so on while N!=1