Intel® Integrated Performance Primitives
Deliberate problems developing high-performance vision, signal, security, and storage applications.

deconvLR kernel requirement

howardzzh
Beginner

Hi there,

I wastrying out the Lucy-Richardson deconvolution function inIPP 5.3.1 and I ran into some problem. In particular, I've found that the function does not produce expected result (LR does not converge) whena kernelis not symmetric. The deconvoluted result seems to be goodonlywhen the kernel is symmetric in both horizontaland vertical directions.I was wondering if symmetryis a built-in requirement forall kernels, or if I had made some kind of mistake. I was trying to find examples online butwithout success, soI'd really appreciate any help here.

Thanks
Howard

0 Kudos
4 Replies
PaulF_IntelCorp
Employee

Hello Howard,

I'm not an expert regarding the Lucy-Richardson transform, but I did a quick look at the original paper (see this Wikipedia pagefor a link to that paper) and it appears that all examples in that paper use a symmetric ROI.

Based on an existing forum thread and some very old support notes on the subject, it appears that the kernelSize parameter is key to the transformation and specifies both the width and height of the area being operated upon; which would confirm your idea that the function only operates on a symmetric matrix of pixels. Please see the following forum thread for more information:

http://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/showthread.php?t=56102

Also, there was a bug in an older version of the function related to odd kernel sizes. Have you tried the 6.1 version of the library?

I will ask our engineering experts to review this thread and see if they can shed more light on the subject.

Paul

0 Kudos
howardzzh
Beginner

Thank you, Paul,

I tried the the same code using IPP 6.1.1 and got the same results. It still does not work for asymmetric kernels (or point spread functions (psf)).

The original Richardson's paper used the following psf