Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Help with OpenMP

xraygenfit
Beginner

Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to OpenMP, and while I have successfully parallelized some loops, I'm stuck on another one

I have the following code (sorry, the C++ formatter isn't working in firefox)

double bestparams[20];
double bestchisquare = FastReflfit(boxes, SLD, parameters, paramsize,
QRange,QSize,Reflectivity,reflectivitysize,Errors,covar,
covarsize, info, infosize, onesigma, FALSE);

omp_set_dynamic(TRUE);
#pragma omp parallel for schedule(guided,50000)
for(int i = 0; i<100000;i++)
{
ParamPermute(params,paramsize);
double chisquare = FastReflfit(boxes, SLD, parameters, paramsize,
QRange,QSize,Reflectivity,reflectivitysize,Errors,covar,
covarsize, info, infosize, onesigma, FALSE);

if(chisquare < bestchisquare)
{
bestchisquare = chisquare;
for(int j = 0; j {
bestparams = params;
}
}
}

So, what I'm basically doing, is calculating a chisquare, comparing it to the previous one, and replacing the previous best fit with the current best fit. Now, if I do a straight omp pragma, I'm going to have a problem with updating the fits simultaneously. If I make them private and have a critical section, I'm going to slow everything else down because each iteration doesn't take that long (but the aggregate is very slow). So, what is the best way to do this? Thanks for any help.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
michaelsuess
Beginner
The best way is to implement a reduction manually. This means that you make private copies of your bestchisqare and bestparams for each thread. Each thread now calculates his own best values using these private copies (no need for synchronization, since every thread only operates on private values).