Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.
1696 Discussions

Performance of kmp_affinity explicit on Intel Xeon Phi

jaisimha_sai_k_
Beginner

Hello,

I am a new MSc student working on Intel Xeon Phi. For my current project, I am running NAS parallel benchmark BT on xeon phi coprocessor with two different affinity patterns using KMP_AFFINITY explicit

scenario 1: running with 40 threads with 4 threads per each physical core (using 4 virtual cores per core and total of 10 physical cores )

results from VTune amplifier:
Elapsed time: 73 seconds

L2_DATA_READ_MISS_CACHE_FILL :76,150,000

L2_DATA_WRITE_MISS_CACHE_FILL: 616,750,000

L2_READ_MISS_CACHE_MEM_FILL : 1,862,300,000

L2_DATA_WRITE_MISS_MEM_FILL: 1,964,750,000

scenario 2: running same benchmark with same 40 threads but with one thread per each physical core (using total 40 physical cores)

results from VTune amplifier:
Elapsed time: 48 seconds

L2_DATA_READ_MISS_CACHE_FILL :272,800,000

L2_DATA_WRITE_MISS_CACHE_FILL: 104,200,000

L2_READ_MISS_CACHE_MEM_FILL : 1,524,350,000

L2_DATA_WRITE_MISS_MEM_FILL: 2,548,200,000

Though scenario 2 has significant amount of write misses, around 580 million more than scenario 1, scenario 2 is taking significantly less time to complete than scenario 1.  I am confused why the first configuration takes so much time. I expected it to be faster. What might be the reason for this? I would really appreciate your help!

0 Kudos
1 Solution
McCalpinJohn
Honored Contributor III

It would help to specify which specific version and which problem size is being run.... We could probably make a pretty good guess from looking at the timings, but it would be a lot easier if the experimental details were provided up front (especially for such a well-known benchmark -- it does not take many words to make a clear specification).