Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Problem with Thread Checker & OpenMP

Peter_Simon
Beginner
Hi, I hope this is the correct forum for this question. I am an experienced Fortran programmer but a newbie wrt threads and OpenMP. I'm attempting to parallelize the following loop using OpenMP and the Intel v. 8 Fortran compiler for windows (within the Microsoft dotnet 2003 IDE):

HF = 0.
HF1 = 0.; HF2 = 0.; HF3 = 0. !pss 7/5/2004 for OMP
!$OMP PARALLEL DO PRIVATE(J_INT1,RK,RK2,RKL,RK3R,CFAC,CJ1) &
!$OMP & REDUCTION(+:HF1) REDUCTION(+:HF2) REDUCTION(+:HF3)
First_refl_loop : &
DO J_INT1 = 1, N_INT1
! Vector RK from first to second reflector times wavenumber
RK(1) = (PUF(1) - P_R1%X(J_INT1))*AK
RK(2) = (PUF(2) - P_R1%Y(J_INT1))*AK
RK(3) = (PUF(3) - P_R1%ACTZ(J_INT1))*AK
! RK2 : RK**2
RK2 = RK(1)**2 + RK(2)**2 + RK(3)**2
! RKL : Length of RK
RKL = SQRT(RK2)
! RK3R : 1/RKL**3
RK3R = 1./(RKL*RK2)
! CFAC : Complex factor
CFAC = FAC*RK3R*(1.+AJ*RKL)*(COS(RKL)-AJ*SIN(RKL))
! CJ1 : Current element on first reflector
CJ1 = P_C1%CUR(:,J_INT1+I_OFF1)
! HF : H-field incident on second reflector
!!$ HF(1) = (CJ1(2)*RK(3)-CJ1(3)*RK(2))*CFAC + HF(1)
!!$ HF(2) = (CJ1(3)*RK(1)-CJ1(1)*RK(3))*CFAC + HF(2)
!!$ HF(3) = (CJ1(1)*RK(2)-CJ1(2)*RK(1))*CFAC + HF(3)
HF1 = (CJ1(2)*RK(3)-CJ1(3)*RK(2))*CFAC + HF1
HF2 = (CJ1(3)*RK(1)-CJ1(1)*RK(3))*CFAC + HF2
HF3 = (CJ1(1)*RK(2)-CJ1(2)*RK(1))*CFAC + HF3
END DO First_refl_loop
!$OMP END PARALLEL DO
HF(1) = HF1; HF(2) = HF2; HF(3) = HF3; ! pss 7/5/2004 for OMP
I compiled the debug versionwith /Qopenmp using the IDE settings (also including /FIXED:NO on the linker command line and set up a Thread Checker Activity. After running the acitivity, I obtain several diagnostics, including a severity "red" one that reads: "Using of a syncrhonization object at "optim3.f90" : 3417 conflicts with its closing at "a_map.c" : 53"
Line 3417 is the line beginning with "HF1 = 0."