Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Record and playback thread interactions

davidnoz
Beginner

I'm a PhD developer with a mathematical optimization software company.

I have developed (as a side project) some portable C code that wraps the pthreads and Windows threading API providing support for thread creation and management, mutexes, events and semaphores. The unique thing about the library is that it can record the interaction of the threads with the mutexes, events etc during a run of an application and then it can playback the interactions in a subsequent run such that the subsequent run behaves the same as the first (assuming all external input into the application runs are the same).

Using this library in my work I have not needed tools such as Thread Checker to debug my code since I have been able to detect race conditions by writing randomized test beds for my code modules and running the tests through repeated record and playback run pairs (the race conditions typically show up as deviations in the execution path that are detected by the playback i.e., thread x tries to lock mutex y instead of the expected mutex z). Furthermore, it seems that the record/playback functionality is uniquely useful when a bug occurs not as the result of a race but as the result of a particular state the application arrives at resulting from the random ordering of thread interactions with shared data.

The code is ported to 32 and 64 bit on HPUX, AIX, Linux, Solaris and Windows.

How useful is such a library?

0 Kudos
2 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III