Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Roundoff error in OpenMP

Bon
Beginner
Hello, I'm new in OpenMP. When studying the OpenMP, I got the different result in the following code:

C
C --- Matrix - Vector multiplication
C Sparse storage(CSR)
C
implicit real*8(a-h,o-z)

!$OMP Parallel
!$OMP Do
do 100 i = 1, n
temp = 0.0d0
do 50 j = ix(i), ix(i+1) - 1
temp = temp + v(i) + ir(x(i))
50continue
y(i) = temp
100 continue

When run with OpenMP parallel, the resultis different from sequential code.

Testing system is
Window XP/Professional 64 bit, Intel fortran compiler 10.x, MicroSoft Visual Studio 2005, Intel Xeon 3.8GHz

Compiler Option

Fortran -> Optimization -> Paralleization -> No
-> Preprocessor -> OpenMP Conditional Compilation -> Yes
-> Process OpenMP Directives -> Generate Parallel Code
-> Data -> Default Double Precision KIND -> 8
Others -> Default

I want to get the answer; How to change the Compiler Options to get the same value.
I read the same question, but I don't understand the answer. ( i'm novice )

thanks in advance

Bon, Koo
0 Kudos
9 Replies
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

Bon, Koo

The variable temp is being used as read/modify/write by multiple threads.
Same with the variable j.
Make temp and jprivate to each thread.
Note, variable i is implicitly private due to it being the indexing variable of a OMP DO

Use
!$OMP Parallel private(temp, j)
!$OMP Do
do 100 i = 1, n
temp = 0.0d0
50continue
y(i) = temp
100 continue

Jim Dempsey

0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III

The variable temp is being used as read/modify/write by multiple threads.
Same with the variable j.
Make temp and jprivate to each thread.
Note, variable i is implicitly private due to it being the indexing variable of a OMP DO

Use
!$OMP Parallel private(temp, j)
!$OMP Do
do 100 i = 1, n
temp = 0.0d0
50continue
y(i) = temp
100 continue