Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

fazing out x86, simple solution

monthadar
Beginner
Hi,

I am a ComputerScience student, and I had an idea that I didn't know where to post. But thankfully to Lexi S. from Intel Software Network Support guided me to post it here.

It seems I can't attach a PDF, so I copied the text.

Me and my friend would be greatefull for any comment/remark on this idea sketch.

------------------------------------------------------------------

Abstract: Today everyone asks the question about what are we going to do with quad or even octal cores? Maybe we can put in a GPU, sound card or other cool things. But all this comes at the expense of the FSB being stressed out, it will be the bottleneck. I want to propose another view to this opportunity. Why not put in two cores that use two different ISA?

Problem

x86 have lived through a world where we are constantly trying to be independent from technology, so that we can upgrade to a new technology when it is present. We don't want to brake our 'legacy' programs and still we want a new and cleaner ISA.

Solution

Today we are totally capable of changing an ISA by utilizing the opportunities we have with multi-cores. Not because we couldn't have made the same thing with two processors on one motherboard, but this time it is much cheaper. And not that we don't have solutions for running different ISA's but this time it is natively done. My solution is two cores each running it's own ISA without any overhead, which means running two programs natively in different ISA.

With this solution we can still run the 'legacy' code with a 100 % guarantee that any bug that was present on a pure x86 CPU is still present on a multi-core CPU with two ISA!

Research