Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

run parallel(each thread running with a different set of input parameters)

Ming_G_
Beginner

Hi, I am a novice in openmp, I want to use openmp to run my code in different threads, while each thread being executed with different input parameters, so do I need to figure out all the parameters in my original code and decide which of them should be set as private?(the code has more than 6000 lines so I'm not sure if this will work). Or do you have any other ideas about this problem? Thanks!

0 Kudos
11 Replies
MikeP_Intel

Sure you could do that, but as you say it could be difficult to manage the variables for each thread. Another suggestion would be to look at the existing (serial) code, that I'm sure has multiple "for loops" that could be parallelized using #pragma omp for constructs. Hit the most CPU intensive loops first.

0 Kudos
Ming_G_
Beginner

Mike P. (Intel) wrote:

Sure you could do that, but as you say it could be difficult to manage the variables for each thread. Another suggestion would be to look at the existing (serial) code, that I'm sure has multiple "for loops" that could be parallelized using #pragma omp for constructs. Hit the most CPU intensive loops first.

Thanks Mike, I have tried to modify my original code in a more parallelized manner, but still with some troubles. Like in some do loops there are callings for subroutines, so do I need to manage the parameters in the subroutines as well ? Because the code cannot run converge last time I didn't do that.    

0 Kudos
Gregg_S_Intel
Employee

What the motivation for using OpenMP?  How about multiple processes running at the same time?

0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

Pseudo C++ code

OpenInputscript(fileName);
int nInputParameters = ReadNumberOfDifferentInputParameters();
#pragma omp parallel for schedule(static,1)
for(int i=0; i<nInputParameters; ++i)