Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

what wrong with my code ?

afd_lml
Beginner
Hi, all,
I am a newbie to learn openmp.
I am now facing a strange problem. My code in the following, which can be carried out correctly with my 2-core laptop, however, it will crash on my 24-core workstation, and the operating system (win vista) says: code 0xc0000005.

Would anyone like to help me ? thank you !

do{
#pragma omp parallel for private(v)
for (int i=0; i {
double* vLast = new double[nvG]; //nvG=10000

double delta = 0.30;
for (int m=0; m {
vLast = v;
v = (1.0-delta)*v + delta*vLast;
}

delete[] vLast;
}
} while (!convergenced)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
Michael_K_Intel2
Employee
Quoting - Tudor

In your example, a is shared because it is declared outside the parallel for region and not with a private clause. b is private because any variable declaration within the parallel for region is implicitly private.

Just to make the example more complete:

double *a = new double[10];
double *b = new double[10];
double *c = new double[10];

#pragma omp parallel private(b) firstprivate(c)
{
double *d = new double[10];

}

We get:

• a is shared, so is the memory behind.
  • b is private, but the pointer is dangling, as the privatized b is left uninitialized.
  • c is made private and the pointer to the array is passed along. The memory pointed to is shared amongst all threads.
  • d is automatically private by scoping rules. As each executes the new operator, each threads has a private memory referenced by d.
Cheers,
-michael

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Michael_K_Intel2
Employee
Quoting - afd.lml
Hi, all,
I am now facing a strange problem. My code in the following, which can be carried out correctly with my 2-core laptop, however, it will crash on my 24-core workstation, and the operating system (win vista) says: code 0xc0000005.

do{
for (int i=0; i {

double delta = 0.30;