Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AMEDV
Novice

Vibration and Noise in midrange : Fan problem?

I have a small problem with my Nuc. Fans(I think, one of them) in midrange (only) produce vibration and extra noice.

Not a deal breaker, but something I would prefer not to have

This is how it sounds:

https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&ar=1&video_id=RFDU24voHYs https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&ar=1&video_id=RFDU24voHYs

If I turn it (or move upside down) the noice disappears, ironically, in normal position it is very well reproducible

I disassembled Nuc (up to the fan) and tighten fan's screws

But it did not help

(btw on disassemble video I found in the Internet wifi card was using two connectors, mine only one)

I am not an expert but I suspect it is a defective fan - when I shake the unit slightly, noise goes away momentarily - something I would expect from the defective fan. This is the worst case really - I do not have repair store nearby or time to spend on this minor (but unpleasant) defect.

https://www.youtube.com/edit?ar=1&o=U&video_id=GgAzyO6QjtA https://www.youtube.com/edit?ar=1&o=U&video_id=GgAzyO6QjtA

Any suggestion are welcome, while the unit is torn apart, I would love to try them, if not I will have to put this unit to work and live with that

47 Replies
AMEDV
Novice

Found some more stories, with vibration problems, on the forum,

AMEDV
Novice

OK. This is what I have done:

So I thought if it is vibration of the fan, it might be bad contact with the case, and so I applied some sticky tape at the top and bottom of the fan:

(White one is double sided, so it should have helped, if it was vibration because of the bad contact of the fan)

I did not helped. When I was doing that I was almost sure it would help. Now I sure It must be the fan. I can spot noise quite well, there is nothing more that can vibrate.