Intel® Optane™ Memory
Support for Issues Related to Intel® Optane™ Memory
Announcements
Want to learn how Intel® Optane™ Memory can help your business? Talk to our Expert!

Looking for our RealSense Community? Click HERE

The Intel® SSD Toolbox and Intel® Data Center Tool are now End-Of-Life, see for more information and replacements tools here
1343 Discussions

intel optane memory degrading

marlandjones
Beginner

First of all, let's establish a baseline.  I am not a techie.  I have a working knowledge but as I looked at all of the topics in the forum about Optane memory, I have to admit I am intimidated.  

The Issue:
I received a notice that my optane memory is starting to degrade.  I have a an H10 with a 1TB SSD on a HP Spectre i7-10750H.  From what i understand, I need to disable the Optane memory.  I opened the Intel Optane Memory and Storage Manager and all i get is an endless spiral and "preparing system".  I downloaded the Intel driver utility and updated all of my intel drivers and no change.  I downloaded and reinstalled the Memory and Storage Manager and same result.  

I am attaching my SSU file.

What am i doing wrong?

What do i need to do? (and if you can save a lost soul, please keep it simple)

What are the implications?

personal note: 

seems pretty crappy that this happens after less than a year.  

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
klowe
Novice

I'm not trying to hijack this post, but I completed the troubleshooting steps already.

I succeeded in installing the Intel RST driver that you linked, rebooted the PC, and was then still unable do disable Optane acceleration in Windows.  I rebooted to BIOS and was able to disable acceleration in those menus.  I'm attaching Intel Memory and Storage Tool reports that I generated 1) after updating the drivers and rebooting, and 2) after disabling Optane acceleration from BIOS.