Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.
15329 Discussions

10G Example design simulation tcl error

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone, 

I am new to the Altera/Intel framework and maybe some of the questions I am going to ask are really dumb. I am still getting used to the new interface and I don't know where all the options are. 

I am trying to create the 10G Example design based on the Low Latency Ethernet 10G MAC IP. The project creation and Analysis & Synthesis work as expected but when I try to simulate the design I am facing some problems with the tool. 

As stated in the [intel arria 10 low latency ethernet 10g mac design example user guide (https://www.altera.com/documentation/nfa1438753448747.html)], to simulate the design at the command prompt I go to the simulation folder and run the following command. 

vsim -c -do tb_run.tcl  

I see the following output of the terminal 

# Top level modules:# altera_eth_10g_mac_base_r# End time: 13:50:11 on Nov 07,2017, Elapsed time: 0:00:00# Errors: 0, Warnings: 0# Start time: 13:50:11 on Nov 07,2017# vlog ./../../../rtl/altera_eth_10g_mac_base_r_wrap.v # Model Technology ModelSim - Intel FPGA Edition vlog 10.5b Compiler 2016.10 Oct 5 2016# -- Compiling module altera_eth_10g_mac_base_r_wrap#  

... a lot more of the same, and at the end ...