Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16592 Discussions

10G Example design simulation tcl error

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone, 

I am new to the Altera/Intel framework and maybe some of the questions I am going to ask are really dumb. I am still getting used to the new interface and I don't know where all the options are. 

I am trying to create the 10G Example design based on the Low Latency Ethernet 10G MAC IP. The project creation and Analysis & Synthesis work as expected but when I try to simulate the design I am facing some problems with the tool. 

As stated in the [intel arria 10 low latency ethernet 10g mac design example user guide (https://www.altera.com/documentation/nfa1438753448747.html)], to simulate the design at the command prompt I go to the simulation folder and run the following command. 

vsim -c -do tb_run.tcl  

I see the following output of the terminal 

# Top level modules:# altera_eth_10g_mac_base_r# End time: 13:50:11 on Nov 07,2017, Elapsed time: 0:00:00# Errors: 0, Warnings: 0# Start time: 13:50:11 on Nov 07,2017# vlog ./../../../rtl/altera_eth_10g_mac_base_r_wrap.v # Model Technology ModelSim - Intel FPGA Edition vlog 10.5b Compiler 2016.10 Oct 5 2016# -- Compiling module altera_eth_10g_mac_base_r_wrap#  

... a lot more of the same, and at the end ...