Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16603 Discussions

How to include Component Declaration Files (.cmp)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

Can anyone tell me how to use the component declaration file generated by the Quartus IP catalog tool in another file? ( have been writing AHDL for many years but I am new to VHDL). 

As an example I have a component shiftcounter and the IP tool generates a file shiftcounter.cmp including the following: 

component shiftCounter 

PORT 

(clk_en : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

clock : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

cnt_en : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

data : IN STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (7 DOWNTO 0); 

sclr : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

sload : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

q : OUT STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (7 DOWNTO 0) 

); 

end component; 

At the moment I keep copy & pasting this into the VHDL files that use that component but I'm sure there must be a way to "include" it. 

Any clues, please? 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hello, 

Can anyone tell me how to use the component declaration file generated by the Quartus IP catalog tool in another file? ( have been writing AHDL for many years but I am new to VHDL). 

As an example I have a component shiftcounter and the IP tool generates a file shiftcounter.cmp including the following: 

component shiftCounter 

PORT 

(clk_en : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

clock : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

cnt_en : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

data : IN STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (7 DOWNTO 0); 

sclr : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

sload : IN STD_LOGIC ; 

q : OUT STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (7 DOWNTO 0) 

); 

end component; 

At the moment I keep copy & pasting this into the VHDL files that use that component but I'm sure there must be a way to "include" it. 

Any clues, please? 

Thanks. 

--- Quote End ---