Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16629 Discussions

Implementing User-Defined "Wait For" time

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Disclaimer: I'm a noob 

I'm trying to implement an entity which takes as an input a 16-bit binary number called bounceWidth( in std_ulogic_vector(15 downto 0)) which will represent the time in which a pulse wave will last. In my behavioral architecture, I have a variable called intWidth ( in std_ulogic_vector(15 downto 0)) and another one called pulseWidth ( time ). 

My desire is to convert the input into a valid form of time expressed in ns so as to be used with the "wait for" command. 

Below is what I'm doing that Quartus doesn't like: 

--- Quote Start ---  

library ieee; 

use ieee.numeric_std.all; 

use ieee.std_logic_1164.all; 

entity bounce_processor is 

generic (prop_delay: Time:= 10ns); 

port (clock: in std_logic;  

bouncewidth: in std_ulogic_vector(15 downto 0); 

bounceCount: in std_ulogic_vector(7 downto 0); 

opcode: in std_ulogic_vector(2 downto 0); 

start: in bit; 

output: out bit); 

end bounce_processor; 

architecture behavioral of bounce_processor is 

variable intwidth : integer range 0 to 65535; 

variable intCount : natural range 0 to 10; 

variable starting_output : bit; 

variable pulsewidth : time; 

begin 

process(clock) 

begin 

if (rising_edge(clock) and start = '1') then 

intwidth := to_integer(bouncewidth); 

pulsewidth := time(intwidth); 

intCount := to_integer(bounceCount); 

starting_output := output; 

if opcode = "000" then 

output <= '0'; 

elsif opcode = "001" then 

for i in 0 to intCount loop 

output <= not output; 

wait for pulsewidth ns; 

end loop; 

if starting_output = '1' then 

output <= 0; 

else 

output <= 1; 

end if; 

elsif opcode = "010" then 

output <= '1'; 

elsif opcode = "011" then 

output <= '0'; 

end if;