Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

Quartus compile message options?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi All 

I'm new to Quartus and not sure I like it yet as it appear to assume everything is done with non-portable wizard generated LPM blocks... Which is a bit of a problem for me because I need to generate generic VHDL code that can be targeted at any chip vendors silicon and tools... and as such it is good to actually know what the tools are inferring from my VHDL so I can tweak it to generate the logic I actually wanted in the fist place...  

I'm a big Xilinx Webpack user and by default that toolset tells you what your VHDL code is generating (FSM with state coding, counters, adders/subtractors, registers, ram etc) on a file by file basis as it compiles the sources. Does anyone know of a way to get quartus to list what it is inferring from your code when it compiles it or is this level of info just not possible? 

Thanks, 

Dave
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

As someone said in another message thread, the cases that generally require instantiated megafunctions, whether LPMs or Altera specific, are those where you are using silicon device features that the synthesis tool cannot infer from the RTL. This would be the case for any vendor. 

For coding styles to infer particular functions, see the Quartus II handbook, Volume 1, Section II, Chapter 6. 

In the "Analysis & Synthesis Resource Utilization by Entity" table of the compilation report, find your entity or module name. If a megafunction was inferred, it will be listed as a lower level of hierarchy. There will also be messages listing the inferred functions, but this table might be the easiest place to tell which functions are used by a particular source file.