Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

SDC set_input_delay and set_output_delay constraints

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm new to TimeQuest / SDC commands. In my design I've got an external Ethernet switch device that is sourcing a dedicated clock signal to drive data into an FPGA. The switch device also sources a dedicated clock to read data from the FPGA. I'm trying to apply constrains for both the tx and rx data paths. I've read through the a document referenced here (TimeQuest User Guide by Ryan Scoville) along with other Altera documentation and it's not clear to me how to do this.  

Maybe the first question is, can I consider this to be a source synchronous interface? The descriptions I've read on this seem to indicate that a source synchronous interface is when a clock input to the FPGA a) drives logic associated with an external device, and b) the input clock is also driven back out of the FPGA to clock the external device.  

In my design, the clock is coming from the external device and the FPGA is not driving the clock back out.  

Details of the clocks and setup/hold times are as follows. FPGA input rx and tx clock from switch device is 25 mhz. Switch device specs for its receive data lines a min setup time of 10 ns and min hold time of 0 secs on the rising clock edge. The switch specs for its transmit data lines that the output data will be valid a min of 18 ns and max of 28 ns after the rising clock edge.  

Can anyone provide any insight into how I can constrain this? 

Thanks in advance
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hello,