Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16666 Discussions

Simulate with Altera IP in ModelSim

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, I'm very new to using FPGAs especially ModelSim(Altera). Sorry if this is a very basic question, but i couldnt find the answer in any of the altera documentation. a lot of it talks about using NativeLink to simulate from within quartus but im ok to use modelsim, since im much more comfortable using the waveform editor.  

I have a design of a simple edge detector that instantiates a few RAM blocks ( ALTSYNCRAMs). I want to simulate the design using ModelSim. In ModelSim, I'm able to compile my design if i select all the files ( VHDL file with my RTL as well as the RAM.vhd which i make using the IP designer ). However, I'm unable to simulate the design. I'm not able to simulate the WORK library itself. the option is grayed out. if i try to simulate my top.vhdl file, i get an error saying modelsim cant find my work.ram entities.  

how can i set it up so that i can simulate everything together?  

is it a must that i have to have a test bench? or can i just create/modify waveforms in modelsim to simulate my design?
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

In principle you compile any source code into a chosen library which defaults to work. Then you simulate any level by selecting from work. 

you will then need to add waveform file by choosing your inputs and applying logic. 

Ideally a testbench can be used to inject data into top level. 

When you compile, check what is the default library. 

The nativelink is not a separate simulator but it launches modelsim from quartus (ready for your design), I never use it.  

Many designers use tcl or do file to compile and run simulation at a single click.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II