Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16642 Discussions

TCL scripting in quartus 23p3

Avinash201040
Beginner
Hii,

i am a beginner in tcl scripting and came across a design problem.

Of multiple qsys present in my project, i want to select a particular qsys and then select a particular ip in that qsys and then i want to enable/disable it based on user input. this i want to do using tcl script. i got some suggestion to do it using ELABORATION CALLBACK. i have no idea how this tcl script will execute in quartus elaboration process. do i need to update qsf for that. please provide some suggestion. also i request to please provide some script for reference, if possible.
thanks.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
SyafieqS

We dont have any reference directly related you requirement. But below are flow how you can achieve that that I could think of and snippet example.

1. enable_disable_ip_callback is the procedure that gets executed during the elaboration phase.

2. qsys_instance_name and ip_name variables are set to the names of your Qsys instance and IP, respectively.

3. The user input is simulated with the variable user_input. You should replace it with your actual user input handling mechanism.

4. The set_property commands enable or disable the IP based on the user input.

5. Finally, the add_elaboration_callback command registers the elaboration callback procedure.

You can integrate this script into your Quartus project and execute it during synthesis/elaboration. Make sure to replace "my_qsys_instance" and "my_ip" with your actual Qsys instance and IP names, respectively, and modify the user input handling according to your requirements.

# Define elaboration callback procedure

proc enable_disable_ip_callback { args } {

set qsys_instance_name "my_qsys_instance"

set ip_name "my_ip"