Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

Trying to on led using the input from pir sensor

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi guys im very new in VHDL and im trying to write a program as to turn on an LED from the GPIO_0 which i put a PIR sensor to it..the PIR sensor is directly connectted to GPIO_O(0).. so the problem is that when i run the program some error show up and i havent have any idea how to correct it back. please help me guys.. 

:):):)
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

LEDR <= "0101" should be better.... 

Franck.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

and using a 5-bit value should help too

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

and using a 5-bit value should help too 

--- Quote End ---  

how do i set the 5- bit value. sory im realy dont know..hmm actualy the program i got it from my friend.. but i try to manipulated it but i did not work.. 

guys tq.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You defined your vectors as 5 bits wide (4 downto 0) so when you assign a value, you should also use 5 bits. "0101" is only 4 bits. You will need to put an extra bit.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

tq guys.. i finally able on running my program and the able to get the out from the pir sensor.. guys how can i put a delay to the out of my program.. if there any example that i can refer to. or can i use bad clock program as to put delay at the output... 

a newbie in programming..tq for all of your help
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

How long do you want your delay to be? For a one clock cycle delay you can just use a register. If you need more than that you will need a chain of registers.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

mr daixiwen