Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16635 Discussions

Which QII WE package version support EP4CE22 and EP2C20 dev boards (DE0-Nano & DE1)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hallo Forum, I'm new in Altera FPGA and QUARTUS II (Free) software and would like to play with the terasIC DE0-Nano and DE1 development boards. The boards use Cyclon II and Cyclon IV devices (EP2C20/EP4CE22) Which version of Quartus II for Linux should I install in order to get support for both boards with only one QII installation? According to Altera web page the current QII 13.1 support only Cyclon III to Cyclon V devices. Many thanks in advance for your answer. Markus

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

quartus ii 9.1sp2 (https://www.altera.com/download/software/quartus-ii-we/9.1sp2) supports Cyclone II devices (and Cyclone IV). 

Regards, 

Alex
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Alex, thanks a lot for this Info! Primary I started to install the current QII (free) package ver. 13.1 on my NB and was wandering that the installation give me only the option for Cyclon III to V when selecting the packages by a checkbox option tree. But later I took the origin dvd from the DE0-Nano dev package and installed QII version 13.0 (free) on a second NB and wondering that I get now a checkbox for Cyclon II to V for installation of the components included in the package. But I have not yet checked the QII 13.0 version running with my DE1 dev board with the Cyclon II device but only with the DE0-Nano board. Could this be caused by the cyclon_xxx.qdz files that are different for the web and the dvd software package? Are you convinced that I really need the QII 9.1sp2 package? Thanks Markus

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You can determine the version you need on the Quartus download page;