Intel® SoC FPGA Embedded Development Suite
Support for SoC FPGA Software Development, SoC FPGA HPS Architecture, HPS SoC Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems
462 Discussions

Error: The target hardware identity could not be verified. Please check that the target being connected to is of type Cyclone V SoC (Dual Core)

MCOUNSELL
New Contributor I

HI all,

Noob here...

I'm just getting started with Cyclone 5 SoC based dev. I have a De10-Nano board. I can program the FPGA section from Quartus without problem. I can run HelloWorld from DS5 ..... however on occasion I see the following error after debug starts.. it also seems that the FPGA part will reset.

Error: The target hardware identity could not be verified. Please check that the target being connected to is of type Cyclone V SoC (Dual Core) 

Can someone point me in a direction to find out whats up please?

If I set the scatter file to load to OCRAM I don't seem to see this problem.... only on SDRAM....

Thanks,

Mike

0 Kudos
8 Replies
EBERLAZARE_I_Intel

Hi,

Are you trying to run a bare metal program?

From Debug Configurations > Connection tab, select Altera > Cyclone V SoC (Dual Core) from the Target Connection.

Recommend if you are trying to run the bare metal program you can refer here:

https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/programmable/us/en/pdfs/literature/ug/ug_bm.pdf

Regards.

MCOUNSELL
New Contributor I

Hi,

Thanks for your response.

Yes, it's a bare metal program. I have the bare metal PDF already thanks.

Can I ask if there are any bugs in the debugging through DS5 + USB Blaster setup? ..... is it rock solid... or flakey.... I'm just trying to understand if this kinda stuff is normal or if I am doing something very wrong...

Mike

0 Kudos
EBERLAZARE_I_Intel

Hi Mike,

There is one regarding "failed to load client library", but the workaround is upgrade to SoC EDS v14.1: