Intel® Software Guard Extensions (Intel® SGX)
Discussion board focused on hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide extended code protection in solutions.

LINK 2019 Error When Trying to use sgx_read_rand

Giovanni_Plascencia

Hello, I am a student researcher new to SGX, which is used in my project. I need to create a random number using sgx_read_rand. When I try to I receive the error LNK2019    unresolved external symbol _sgx_read_rand referenced in function _main. I have added #include<sgx_trts.h>. I have also tried adding sgx_trts.lib into the additional dependencies, but I still get the same error. I am using Visual Studio 2015. Any help is appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
JesusG_Intel

Hello Giovanni,

You need to create an enclave call (ecall) that your untrusted app can call. The SGX101 enclave_example is a simple tutorial on creating an enclave with a single ecall and ocall, which is based on the SampleEnclave in the SGX SDK. You should be able to easily modify this code for your purposes.

Refer to the section Enclave Development Basics in the Intel SGX SDK Developer Reference Guide for Windows for complete details on ecalls, ocalls, and other topics you should know when developing SGX applications.

Sincerely,

Jesus G.

Intel Customer Support

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
12 Replies
JesusG_Intel

Hello Giovanni,

Can you run any of the SGX SDK samples successfully? Try compiling and running SampleEnclave.

If you can run SampleEnclave successfully, then ensure your project settings match the project settings from SampleEnclave.

I was able to use sgx_read_rand by adding #include <sgx_trts.h> and no other modifications.

Sincerely,

Jesus G.

Intel Customer Support

0 Kudos
Giovanni_Plascencia