Intel® Software Guard Extensions (Intel® SGX)
Discussion board focused on hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide extended code protection in solutions.

Problem: Cannot find SGX Debugger in Visual Studio

Ka__Marcel
Beginner

Hello community,

I'm new in SGX development. I want to debug an Enclave in Visual Studio 17, just as shown in the tutorial video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OlWBAuXSPmU, however I don't have the SGX Debugger in the list menu.

It really is a SGX project and simple methods works perfectly, but I'm unable to debug the Enclave part.

Best regards

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Scott_R_Intel
Employee

Hi Marcel.

Which version of the SGX SDK do you have installed?  VS 2017 debugger (and other) support was not added until version 2.1, and we're currently up to v2.2.100.48339.

Regards.

Scott

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Scott_R_Intel
Employee

Hi Marcel.

Which version of the SGX SDK do you have installed?  VS 2017 debugger (and other) support was not added until version 2.1, and we're currently up to v2.2.100.48339.

Regards.

Scott

0 Kudos
Behera__Shipra
Beginner

Hi,

I'm using Visual Studio 2019 and SGX SDK version 2.3. I'm not able to see the Intel SGX debugger on Visual Studio

0 Kudos
Francisco_C_Intel

Hi Shipra.

Currently VS 2019 is not supported.

Thanks,

Francisco

0 Kudos
SylviaL
Beginner

Hi Francisco,

Do you know if VS 2019 now supported?

Thanks

0 Kudos
JesusG_Intel

Hello SylviaL,

Yes, VS2019 is now supported. The Release Notes for the Intel SGX SDK for Windows 2.12, which is the latest version, report:

Visual Studio 2019 Add-in Tool is designed to work with the Microsoft Visual Studio Professional 2019 environment. While Visual Studio* Professional 2019 is the recommended environment, the tools may also be installed with the Community and Enterprise versions of Visual Studio 2019.

Known Issues and Limitations