Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.
6956 Discussions

2D Poisson Solver with MKL Regular Grid Setup FORTRAN 90

JP12321
Beginner

Hi All, 

Could someone please point me to a tutorial for setting up the Fast Poisson Solver, provided by the MKL, in Fortran90 please? 

I've been reading the manual, however most of the examples are in C so I'm very confused and getting many different errors. 

I'm a complete beginner with MKL, so I'm not entirely sure how to implement this at all. 

The grid I'm using is 2D and square.  I'm trying to solve the electrostatic Poisson equation. The outside boundaries of the entire domain are set to zero. There will be two regions within the domain that have fixed potentials applied. The rest of the domain needs to be solved using Poisson's equation. 

I've found quite a few topics on f90 Poisson solvers, but could not find any beginner guides. 

If none exist, would it be possible for someone to explain how to get started with this? 

I'm using an HPC with MKL already installed, as well as parallel studio. 

Thanks in advance! 

0 Kudos
1 Solution
VidyalathaB_Intel

Hi Joseff,

Let me give you the steps that I've followed to run the sample code (Double precision 2D Helmholtz - I presume this is what you are trying).

> ifort -c /opt/intel/oneapi/mkl/2022.1.0/include/mkl_dfti.f90

> ifort -c /opt/intel/oneapi/mkl/2022.1.0/include/mkl_poisson.f90

> ifort -qmkl d_Helmholtz_2D_f.f90

VidyalathaB_Intel_1-1655822387469.png

-qmkl is the quick linking option used to link with mkl with Intel compilers. You can refer to the links which I've mentioned in my previous post.

Since you are using ifort from the parallel studio it would be -mkl I guess.

Here is the screenshot of the output after successful compilation.

VidyalathaB_Intel_0-1655822298315.png

Hope this helps in resolving the issue.

Regards,

Vidya.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos