Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Building R with MKL

syk
Beginner

Hello,

I am new to intel c++ compiler. 

Further to installation of 2017 intel c++ composer edition, I am trying to build R with Intel MKL, following this link

https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/articles/using-intel-mkl-with-r.html

In particular, 

"building R with GNU gcc and GNU gfortran, to use the GNU OpenMP* threaded version of Intel® MKL in R on a Linux operating system"

=====

$ MKL="-Wl,--no-as-needed -lmkl_gf_lp64 -Wl,--start-group -lmkl_gnu_thread -lmkl_core -Wl,--end-group -fopenmp -ldl -lpthread -lm"

$ MKL="-Wl,--no-as-needed -lmkl_gf_lp64 -Wl,--start-group -lmkl_gnu_thread -lmkl_core -Wl,--end-group -fopenmp -ldl -lpthread -lm"

checking for dgemm_ in -Wl,--no-as-needed -lmkl_gf_lp64 -Wl,--start-group -lmkl_gnu_thread -lmkl_core -Wl,--end-group -fopenmp -ldl -lpthread -lm... no
configure: error: BLAS was specified but not available

=======

When I check R config.log, I find 

=====

configure:41233: checking for dgemm_ in -Wl,--no-as-needed -lmkl_gf_lp64 -Wl,--start-group -lmkl_gnu_thread -lmkl_core -Wl,--end-group -fopenmp -ldl -lpthread -lm
configure:41255: /usr/local/bin/gcc-10 -o conftest -g -O2 -fpic -I/usr/local/include -L/usr/local/lib64 conftest.c -Wl,--no-as-needed -lmkl_gf_lp64 -Wl,--start-group -lmkl_gnu_thread -lmkl_core -Wl,--end-group -fopenmp -ldl -lpthread -lm -L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-redhat-linux/4.8.2 -lgfortran -lm -lquadmath -lrt -ldl -lm >&5
/bin/ld: cannot find -lmkl_gf_lp64
/bin/ld: cannot find -lmkl_gnu_thread
/bin/ld: cannot find -lmkl_core

========

I realise there isn't "libmkl_gf_lp64.so" in /opt/intel directory, which  I learn is "LP64 interface library for the GNU Fortran compilers"

To build R with Intel MKL, I wonder if I need to buy Intel fortran compiler to have the libmkl_gf_lp64.so library.

thanks,

ss

0 Kudos
5 Replies