Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

DSYEVD and eigenvalue order

xiaomingg
Beginner

I am new to INTEL MKL, and using fotran 77.

I am using DSYEVD to compute eigenvalues and eigenvectors. I need the eigenvalues and eigenvectors in original order in the subsequent calculation. But DSYEVD output eigenvalues in ascending order. Is there a solution?

Thank you for your help.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Michael_C_Intel4
Employee

Hello,

it's not possible for any eigensolver in MKL. I doubt if there's some determined original order, different algorithms can extract eigenvalues in different order.

Michael.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Michael_C_Intel4
Employee

Hello,

it's not possible for any eigensolver in MKL. I doubt if there's some determined original order, different algorithms can extract eigenvalues in different order.

Michael.

0 Kudos
nvaneck
New Contributor I
I need the same thing. Does anyone know of a non-MKL Fortran routine that will do this?

Thanks!
0 Kudos
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
I find the requirement puzzling. How do you define "original order" with reference to eigenvalue determination? Or, equivalently, what is "original order" for the roots of the characteristic equation

det (A - I) = 0

?

Different algorithms may produce the eigenvalues in different order. How do you evaluate whether a particular order is closer to "original order"?
0 Kudos
nvaneck
New Contributor I