Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Error in Complex SVD (cgesvd and zgesvd)

Furse__Richard
Beginner

I've been using LAPACK for several years. On Windows, I've been using a (now) rather old version of MKL, and on Linux I've been using ATLAS. Yesterday, I decided to try out MKL on a new Linux box. I'm investigating various inconsistencies, but a regression test failure is standing out:

When I take the SVD of the following complex 2x2 matrix...

(   1   0

0  -2i   )

… I get a weights (0 1). This is obviously wrong in a number of ways: the weights are not in descending order, and the zero suggests that the matrix is singular, which it clearly isn't. u*w*ct(v) does not reconstitute the original matrix. If I change the -2i to -i the weights change from (0 1) to (1 0). All quite strange! (The weights should be (2 1).)

The problem occurs with both cgesvd() and zgesvd(). There of course might be issues in the wrapper code I'm using, but it's (mostly) quite old and other matrices work fine. Before I investigate further, should I be expecting any changes to how I should use these routines? To get this fixed, I presumably need to write it up properly - assuming I don't realise my error while doing this, do I then post here, or is there are more official channel?