Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

Getting started with MKL+ScaLAPACK!

Georgios_S_
New Contributor II

I am a student and this is my first time using MKL. I am interesting in applying a Cholesky factorization to a SPD huge matrix and then invert it. I have the chance to use many computers for that purpose, thus I am only interested in distributed solutions. For that reason, I would like to use MKL with ScaLAPACK.

Is there any introductory tutorial for my level? The Cookbook seems to have some examples, but they do not seem introductory.

Does MKL provide a C interface for that? From this old post, the answer seems to be no. But if so, why not just using only ScaLAPACK? I do not know Fortran and I thought MKL would get me out of trouble by providing a C interface for ScaLAPACK.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Ying_H_Intel
Employee
Hello Georgios, No problem. Regarding your last question, the answer is no, MKL have same interface as ScaLAPACK. Best Regards, Ying

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III

First, all cautions about avoiding inversion when there is an alternative apply with more force to SPD matrix (even it is not sparse).

There is a quick outline of Pardiso facilities for symmetric: https://software.intel.com/en-us/node/470282

There will be more web searchable hints outside of MKL, since the MKL BLAS functions are work-alike compatible with the open source ones. This may help you form a better idea of your strategy.

SPD requires use of effectively single dimensioned data arrays so there is no fundamental difference between calling from Fortran or C or way a C wrapper could simplify much.

0 Kudos
Georgios_S_
New Contributor II

I agree. I am very sorry, but I forgot to mention that my matrix is ***dense***, thus Pardiso seems to be not helpful.