Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

How to use complex data type in MKL C program?

Ming_L_1
Beginner

Dear all:

I am facing a problem on how to use lapack_complex_double data type, Including multiply, divide,conjugate(I can do this using z_imag=-z_imag, is this the best way?), and print the results(actually I can print the result, but every time I need a cast (double)z.real, (double)z.imag, which is not convenient).I have tried cast the variable (double complex) z the multiply, but it failed. I will give my sample program. Anyone please kindly show me how I can handle this data type. Please modify on my program so that I can see clear how this is done. I am a novice in both C and MKL programming. I have searched this site and found some similar thread, but I still cannot work it out. 

Below is my program, you can do the matrix element operations using matrix m in it. 

#include    <complex.h>
#include    <math.h>
#include    <stdlib.h>
#include    <stdint.h>
#include    <stdio.h>
#include    <mkl.h>
lapack_int LAPACKE_zheev( int matrix_order, char jobz, char uplo, lapack_int n, lapack_complex_double* a, lapack_int lda, double* w );
//hermitian matrix, each row in output is an eigenvector
void    diag(lapack_complex_double *mat, double *e, lapack_int n)
{
    char    jobz='V';   //also eigenvectors
    char    uplo='U';   //upper triangle
    lapack_int  info;

info=LAPACKE_zheev(LAPACK_ROW_MAJOR,jobz,uplo,n,mat,n,e);

if(info!=0){
        printf("matrix diag fail,the %d argument is wrong\n",info);
        exit(1);
    }
}

int main()
{
    lapack_complex_double *mat;
    lapack_complex_double *m;
    double  *e;

mat=(lapack_complex_double *)malloc(sizeof(lapack_complex_double)*4);
    m=(lapack_complex_double *)malloc(sizeof(lapack_complex_double)*4);
    e=(double *)malloc(sizeof(double)*2);
    mat[0].real=1.0;    mat[0].imag=0.0;