Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.
6977 Discussions

Intel MKL PARDISO : reordering once, factorizing multiple times

mlucio89
Beginner

Hi all,

I have been using MKL PARDISO for two months now to solve linear systems within a Fortran-coded non-linear Finite Element software. At the moment I try to optimize the code and in particular the calls to MKL PARDISO.

In my problem, the coefficient matrix (tangent stiffness matrix) has a constant sparsity pattern, however the coefficients values change at each nonlinear iteration.

If I am correct, in this case it makes sense to reorder and symbolically factorize (phase 11) only once -at the beginning- and then factorize (phase 22) each time the coefficients change.

If I do so, I get no errors but the results become wrong after the first iteration.

Conversely, the results are correct if I perform the two phases 11+22 at each nonlinear iteration.

Is my hypothesis fundamentally wrong, to want to perform phase 11 only once? Or is there something else going on here that I do not see?

Thank you very much for your help!

ML

PS: I am NOT using the DSS interface

PPS: I have already tried to set iparm(5)=2 to save the permutation vector computed in phase 11

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Kirill_V_Intel
Employee

Hello,

Your general line of thinking is correct but there are important details to understand.

1) If you use matching or scaling, then the result of phase 1 actually depends on your matrix values. So it is almost impossible (and PARDISO cannot do it now) re-use the phase 1's information in this case. So, you need to turn off these features.

2) Second, without special notification PARDISO cannot work like you tried, with calling phase 22 once, then "silently" changing the matrix values and then calling phase 22 again.

3) What PARDISO can do for you is three things.