Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

MATLAB element-wise product

bcor
Beginner
hi,

first, i am a newbie here, therefore sorry for any inconvenient or inappropriate content of this message.

i am trying to convert some matlab+simulink program to c++ and searching for the functions coming with MATLAB in MKL.

my project uses matrices and i couldnt find how to convert the following expression from matlab:

"A=rand(10);
B=rand(10);
C= A.*B;"

is this a special matlab function or is there an implementation for this in mkl?

i have the same problem also with the function/block in simulink; "weighted moving average"

i searched the documents and the forum, but couldnt find information.

would be pleased to solve

thanks in advance
0 Kudos
4 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
At the outset you should recognize that Matlab is an interpreted language with an emphasis on matrix manipulation, whereas Fortran (in which Lapack was written) and C++ are compiled languages. Compiled languages have far fewer verbs (or primitives, if you prefer) than interpreted languages. Any urge to wish that one were more like the other is, therefore, misguided unless one already has much experience with the former.

Fortran is endowed with few standard procedures for mathematical tasks, but has the features needed to build such procedures into, e.g., a library such as MKL. You will have to look in the MKL documentation MKL and find routines which when assembled together will fulfil your needs.

Matlab is proprietary, whereas C and Fortran are covered by international standards.
0 Kudos
TimP
Honored Contributor III
As mecej4 implies, Fortran has built-in array operations which may resemble matlab, but C++ itself does not. There are C++ class implementations which address this, but you have the (big) initial step of deciding whether you like one or more of those:
blitz++ (open source)
ArBB (proprietary)