Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

MKL-SPBLAS + DSS example : segfault for big matrices

Tibaldi__Alberto
Beginner

Hi,

I am a newbie with MKL.

I am trying to combine SPBLAS and DSS on a matrix (which is basically the mass matrix of a 1D FEM solver) which I can handle better in COO format. Therefore, what I've done is: store it with COO format in SPBLAS, convert such internal representation to CSR, perform a matrix-vector product in the internal representation, convert to the three-array variation of CSR (three vectors). With this, I can generate a DSS handle, process it, and finally solve a system.

Before starting with the hard stuff, I decided to solve a canonical system such that its solution is equal to all ones, so I can check the solution correctness (to verify that all steps are performed correctly).

It appears that everything works, but just for "small" matrices. For instance, nn=100 works, nn=10 works, nn=5000 doesn't, and segfaults.

I have therefore some questions.

1) Is what I'm trying to do the best way of solving a sparse linear system starting from a COO matrix?

2) Any clue about why it doesn't it work with bigger (but not so big.....) matrices?

3) I noticed that, recently, a QR sparse solver working directly with the internal SPBLAS representation has been developed. I will try it ASAP, but I would have preferred using DSS/PARDISO ... And I don't know which is the best way, see question 1.
Is there any chance to make the SPBLAS internal representation directly "digestible" by DSS or PARDISO? Now, or, in the future?

Please find attached the code I've cooked from the MKL examples...

Thank you!

Alberto

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
! This code assembles the typical mass matrix of a 1-D FEM simulator in COO - SPBLAS, converts