Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

MKL library

raminkh
Beginner
I am very new to MKL, I wanted to solve a linear system using "getrs" command in Intel Fortran 11.1 running in windows 7 (64 bit). Please let me know how I can do it.

Thanks
0 Kudos
14 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
Read the MKL documentation, and look through some of the example source codes. In fact, in the IFort 12.x and MKL 10.3 distribution there are examples of using subroutines sgetrs and dgetrs in the ...\mkl\examples\lapack\source directory.
0 Kudos
raminkh
Beginner
Could you tell me where these examples are? I have been trying to link fortran 11.1 with MKL 10.1 but have not been successful yet. Could you please add more details on how to create a link btween intel fortran 11.1 abd MKL 10.1?
0 Kudos
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
I cannot comment on older versions of IFort and MKL other than to say that older versions of MKL did come with plenty examples. Where they are installed depends on where you installed MKL. Below the location where MKL was installed you will find an "examples" sub-directory.

It is particularly simple to use the Lapack-95 interfaces. With some older versions of MKL, these interfaces were not provided in pre-built form, but one could use a supplied makefile to build them. Here is an example:

[fortran]program linsolx

use lapack95, only : getrf, getrs

integer ipiv(3)
  double precision :: a(3,3)=reshape([2.,-1.,0.,-1.,2.,-1.,0.,-1.,2.],[3,3])
  double precision :: b(3) = ([4., 5., 6.])

call getrf( a ,ipiv)        ! Factorize A
  call getrs( a, ipiv, b)     ! Solve A.x = b

write(*,'(3g15.5)') b

end program linsolx
[/fortran]
Compiling and linking:
[bash]S:LANG> ifort /Qmkl getsX.f90 mkl_lapack95.lib
[/bash]
0 Kudos
Gennady_F_Intel