Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.
6956 Discussions

Reduce the size of program after linking with MKL libraries

dakotaa
Beginner

I am just getting started with intel MKL libraries (mac/Xcode 10/clang) but I have noticed that the resulting binaries have been very big even if I am using just a couple of APIs. For eg-  the following sample code results in a 25MB executable

int N = 1;
    fftw_complex *in, *out;
    fftw_plan my_plan;
    in = (fftw_complex*) fftw_malloc(sizeof(fftw_complex)*N);
    out = (fftw_complex*) fftw_malloc(sizeof(fftw_complex)*N);
    my_plan = fftw_plan_dft_1d(N, in, out, FFTW_FORWARD, FFTW_ESTIMATE);
    fftw_execute(my_plan);
    fftw_destroy_plan(my_plan);
    fftw_free(in);
    fftw_free(out);

Following are my compilation settings (as generated by the link-line advisor)

Link Flags -

${MKLROOT}/lib/libmkl_intel_ilp64.a ${MKLROOT}/lib/libmkl_sequential.a ${MKLROOT}/lib/libmkl_core.a -lpthread -lm -ldl

Compiler Flags - 

-DMKL_ILP64 -m64 -I"${MKLROOT}/include"

I was statically linking to reduce the binary size as the same dylibs are 122 MB in size. Is it possible to reduce the size of the binary further? 

There is a similar question on the forum here, but the link to the answer is dead now.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

Your statement/question, "I was statically linking to reduce the binary size as the same dylibs are 122 MB in size. Is it possible to reduce the size of the binary further? ", reveals several misconceptions.

Go back to the MKL Link Line Advisor, and ascertain the options to use dynamic libraries, instead. For a short program with source code a couple of kilobytes long, compiling and linking with shared libraries should produce an a.out that is some tens of kilobytes in size.

You can benefit from reading about how shared libraries work in Linux/OSX.

0 Kudos
dakotaa
Beginner