Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

ifort: error #10031

drimago
Beginner
Hi all,
First of all I have to say that I am a complete newbie when it comes to fortran on linux. I have used fortran before but not in a complex environment like a cluster and definitely not with lapack and all that.
So what I have now is a server running debian which i want to use to run some fortran code. the problem i am having is the following:
I want to compile a program called test.f90 so i write:
ifort test.f90 -o -lmkl_lapack -lmkl_blas
and i get the following error
ifort: error #10031: could not write to argument file '/tmp/ifortegHH3Earg'
and I have ho clue why or what to do about it.
Can anyone steer me in the right direction as to how to solve this issue?
Cheers,
Lucian
0 Kudos
1 Solution
mecej4
Honored Contributor III
The MKL libraries are in different directories than the compiler runtime and other libraries. By default, the compiler will not search for libraries in the MKL lib directory. Use the -mkl compiler option for simple jobs, and use the MKL Link Line Advisor for more intricate jobs.

Do not attempt to use the LAPACK-95 and BLAS-95 libraries unless your code calls the Fortran-95 interface routines.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
drimago
Beginner
Ok it turns out that test.f90 had errors. But now I have other problems:
it seems that the way I was trying to use lapack and blas libraries is not the right way. the command
ifort test.f90 -o-lmkl_lapack -lmkl_blas
yelds: cannot find lmkl_blas. I did a search and there is a libmkl_lapack95 and same for blas. Modified the command but the same result: cannot find...
What am I doing wrong?
Cheers,
Lucian
0 Kudos
mecej4
Honored Contributor III